UNFCCC Annex I and Annex II Countries

UNFCCC Annex I Countries - (Developed Nations and Nations with Economies in Transition (EIT))

  • Australia
  • Austria
  • Belarus a/
  • Belgium
  • Bulgaria a/
  • Canada
  • Croatia*
  • Czech Republic a/ *
  • Denmark
  • European Union
  • Estonia a/
  • Finland
  • France
  • Germany
  • Greece
  • Hungary a/
  • Iceland
  • Ireland
  • Italy
  • Japan
  • Latvia a/
  • Liechtenstein*
  • Lithuania a/
  • Luxembourg
  • Monaco*
  • Netherlands
  • New Zealand
  • Norway
  • Poland a/
  • Portugal
  • Romania a/
  • Russian Federation a/
  • Slovakia a/*
  • Slovenia a/*
  • Spain
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland
  • Turkey
  • Ukraine a/
  • United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland
  • United States of America


a/ Countries with Economies in Transition (EIT)

* Countries added to Annex I by an amendment that entered into force on 13 August 1998, pursuant to decision 4/CP.3 adopted at COP 3.

UNFCCC Annex II Countries

These are Annex I countries without the countries with Economies in Transition (EIT)). That is, countries not marked with a/ above.

The non-annex I countries

are the developing countries

(Sources: United Nations Framework of Climate Change Convention (UNFCCC) and Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD))

Other Sources of Information:

 Add a Review of this item 

Support Us

Get your own copy of Clean Energy Fuels:

Clean Energy Fuels

Connect to us:

Facebook Twitter